Sunday, 20 March 2011

The Animals - Greatest Hits Live! (1984)

The Animals - Greatest Hits Live!
Recorded at Wembley Arena in London on December 31st 1983 during The Animals' second reunion tour (the original band had previously reformed for a brief time in the late 1970's as well), Greatest Hits Live! is exactly that.  Although much of the set for The Animals' reunion tour in 1983 was made up of songs from their 1983 album, Ark, this recording features many of the band's classic hits, including House Of The Rising Sun and Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood.

The whole performance is imbued with a raw energy not usually heard in the band's original performances from the '60s, giving well known songs a fresh vitality that belies the age of both the songs and the band themselves.

The haunting piano intro leading into Eric Burdon's growling vocal performance on Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood is a particular highlight of the album, as is their raucous cover version of John Lee Hooker's Boom Boom.


Side one

  • It's Too Late
  • House Of The Rising Sun
  • It's My Life
  • Don't Bring Me Down
  • Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood

Side two

  • I'm Crying
  • Bring It On Home To Me
  • O Lucky Man!
  • Boom Boom
  • We Gotta Get Out Of This Place

Saturday, 19 March 2011

Blind Faith - Blind Faith 1969

Formed by Eric Clapton and Ginger Baker from the band Cream, along with Steve Windwood of the Spencer Davis Group and Ric Grech from Family, Blind Faith is another addition to the trend in the late sixties and early seventies for rock supergroups.

There was a huge amount of controversy surrounding Blind Faith's original album artwork (below right), which featured a photograph of a naked girl stroking a distinctly phallic model of an aeroplane.

While Eric Clapton did his best to defend the band's choice of album artwork their record company released the album with an alternative cover in the US and Canada (pictured left) which featured a much more traditional photograph of the band and included a label detailing the members of the supergroup.


Side one

  • Had to Cry Today
  • Can't Find My Way Home
  • Well All Right
  • Presence of the Lord

Side two

  • Sea of Joy
  • Do What You Like

Arlo Guthrie - Arlo 1968

Arlo by Arlo Guthrie (1968)
Released in October 1968 Arlo is a live album compiling several of Arlo Guthrie's most popular songs, although Alice's Restaurant which is arguably his most well know work is not featured on the album.

One notable highlight, and a definite personal favourite, is the nearly eight minute long version of Arlo's ramble tale of misadventures with the law and an unwanted pickle, The Motorcycle Song.

Arlo Guthrie is still actively touring today and details of upcoming appearances can be found on his official website at  He also writes semi-regular blog posts there, updating his fans on his travels and appearances, or whatever else is on his mind.


Side one

  • The Motorcycle Song
  • Wouldn't You Believe It
  • Try Me One More Time
  • John Looked Down

Side two

  • Meditation (Wave upon Wave)
  • Standing at the Threshold
  • The Pause of Mr. Claus

Appaloosa - Appaloosa 1969

Appaloosa - Appaloosa
Formed in Cambridge Massachusetts by teenagers John Parker Compton and Robin Batteau (vocals/acoustic guitar and cello respectively) and accompanied by Harvard Alums David Reiser on bass and cellist Gene Rosov, Appaloosa's self-titled debut album from 1969 is regarded as an obscure gem among fans of that era's so-called "folk-baroque" scene.

Produced by Al Kooper (who also played keyboards and some of the guitar parts on the album) and aided by Kooper's fellow Blood, Sweat & Tears members Bob Columby on drums and Fred Lipsius on sax, Appaloosa's delicate sound and teenage angst-ridden lyrics (all eleven songs were written by Compton during the previous two years while attending a "progressive" New York boarding school) destined the album to art rock obscurity.

Compton and Batteau went on to record another album as a duo, entitled Compton and Batteau in California, then in 1971 Compton released his first solo album, To Luna, which would not be followed until 1995 when Compton released Mother of Mercy.

In 2005 Compton, Batteau and Reiser reformed Appaloosa for a concert at Harvard University's Sanders Theatre and were said to be heading into the studio to work on new material.

Track Listing

Side one

  • Tulu Rogers
  • Thoughts of Polly
  • Feathers
  • Bi-Weekly
  • Glossolalia
  • Rivers Run To the Sea

Side two

  • Pascals Paradox
  • Yesterday's Roads
  • Now That I Want You
  • Georgia Street
  • Rosalie