Thursday, 6 January 2011

Al Kooper - I Stand Alone - 1968

Al Kooper - I Stand Alone
I Stand Alone, released in 1968, is Al Kooper's first solo album. Kooper had previously been a part of Blood, Sweat & Tears as well as a regular collaborator with Bob Dylan, Mike Bloomfield and New York underground favourites, The Blues Project.

Like the "Super Session" album, which featured Al Kooper along with Mike Bloomfield and Stephen Stills, I Stand Alone includes a disparate range of cover versions of songs from original artists ranging from Harry Nilsson and Traffic all the way through to Isaac Hayes.


*All tracks were written by Al Kooper except where noted otherwise.

  • Overture

  • I Stand Alone

  • Camille (Kooper, Tony Powers)

  • One (Harry Nilsson)

  • Coloured Rain (Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi, Chris Wood)

  • Soft Landing on the Moon

  • I Can Love A Woman

  • Blue Moon of Kentucky (Bill Monroe)

  • Toe Hold (Isaac Hayes, David Porter)

  • Right Now For You

  • Hey, Western Union Man (Jerry Butler, Kenny Gamble, Leon Huff)

  • Song and Dance for the Unborn, Frightened Child

  • No comments:

    Post a Comment

    Do you know anything else about these classic albums? Feel free to leave a comment and let us know.